To Dream of the Fields

Is it sad that on this sunny morning, no negatives among my day so far, all I can think of is running away. I’ve got to be in the fields my mind screams, I’ve got to be where I can breathe. I need that clean air and cold dirt of earth below my toes. I want to wake up and trudge my sleeping feet through grass sopping with dew to a rocking chair where I’ll find a cat the size of the chair itself, a cup of tea and a scene set for my eyes to adhere to. Set the scene: green fields bountiful with food, bountiful with life and the natural process of growth. There’s nothing but endless sky out here. I am somewhere that distractions were never invited, negative thoughts don’t exist because there’s bliss layered thick like a morning fog over the hills that my eyes have settled on. It’s as though I have come to a place in my life were the struggle over what to pack for lunch, which skirt to wear to work and how fast the day will drag by are all thoughts belonging to a stranger. It’s in this place that I promise my future self to keep this scene fervently in the front of my mind. I promise my future self vows of depth and what will be a reality:

I will have my fields.
I will have my bliss.
I will have the earth beneath my feet.
I will have the sun weigh on my shoulders instead of burdens.
I will have less where I always thought I needed more.
I will heal my body of years of abuse.
I will have time, simply time.
I will live simply and simply for happiness.
I will survive only on what the earth can provide.
I will remember these things when faced with trials.

You think you have to want more than you need, until you have it all you won’t be free. When you want more than you have, you think you need.  -Eddie Vedder, Society

Leave a Reply

