To Feel Delight in the Dirt on my Feet!

Earth plasters, Adobe, Dirt cement blocks. Just a few of the things I contemplate my house will be constructed of… (scratching my head as I try to convince future me that it will be a piece of cake!) I’ll live in a hut one day, I will. I don’t need four drywalls to make my home. All I’ll need is protection from the elements. Safe from wind, rain and animal. (And of course all the other terrifyingly awesome things Michigan’s  weather system can throw us). My inspiration to this post? Mother Earth News. If you have never had the delight of reading their articles… I suggest you start now.

http://www.motherearthnews.com/green-homes/earthen-homes-zm0z12aszmat.aspx?page=2

Building Earthen Homes

An entire DIY collection of Earthy materials to build your home from, or how to conjure them up. I’ve been motivated by my stay in a simple shack of a “cabin.” Though small, drab and full of the sometimes unwelcome beetle, spider and fly, it became home. It became a retreat, some place that I truly hold dear to my heart. It was full of things I wish to bring to my small & drab life back home. I shall create for myself an oasis made of earth- even if it is within four rented walls. I will do this until I have the freedom to create on my own a beautiful retreat built ground up from earth. As if the dirt itself stood up to provide me with protection, as it already does in so many ways.

“And forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair”
― Khalil Gibran, The Prophet

“The Earth provides for our every need for free, so why do we work for others to earn an illusory unit of value to buy what is freely available?” -AboveTopSecrets.com
“Our primeval Mother Earth is an organism that no science in the world can rationalise. Everything on her that crawls and flies is dependent upon Her and all must hopelessly perish if that Earth dies that feeds us.” -Victor Schauburger
“If we do not permit the earth to produce beauty and joy, it will in the end not produce food, either.” -Joseph Wood Krutch
“No occupation is so delightful to me as the culture of the earth, and no culture comparable to that of the garden.” –Thomas Jefferson

There is pleasure in the pathless woods

There is rapture in the lonely shore

There is society where none intrudes

By the deep sea, and music in its roar:

I love not man the less, but nature more

-Lord Byron

I must live among the natural. These dry-walls, keeping me warm with chemically formed fur and a shelter from above made from tar and steel. These things are not real, nor natural or seemingly healthy the plentiful ground we walk on. “The Earth delights to feel your bare feet!!!” Isn’t it the truth, but I think I’m given the gift when my toes hit the dust. What sense would it make to protect my life, my family and being with for manufactured walls, when earth could make for me the most beautiful, protective structure that could live. The best part? When my time on earth has come and gone, my structure with stand or crumble. And if it should crumble I will rest easy knowing it has humbly returned to it’s rightful owner, to be used again by another.

One of the most inspiring men I have studied: Michael Reynolds, an eco architect. His homes create that oasis that my future-self longs for. Check his stuff out… http://www.garbagewarrior.com/

His documentary is also available on http://www.topdocumentaryfilms.com

He creations are beautiful, honor the earth and were constructed with community in mind.

If you’d ever believe it, they rely only on earth’s power to provide for them the means to live. Why do we tend to act as if no one had done it before us? No one could have survived with out these technologies. Well believe, because it’s possible. And truth is, it holds such an immense amount of beauty, no man could ever recreate what the earth provides. No scientist, medicine man or architect will ever create what is provided for us in dirt. Culture the earth quickly before our culture spreads.

Leave a Reply

